Medical Assistant Certification | Remington College Click here to skip navigation
  • Medical Assistant Certifications

    Skills based certifications are a good way to differentiate yourself from other medical assisting job applicants. A certification means that you’ve passed a board-sanctioned test or have demonstrated expertise in a certain medical process.
    The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics found that medical assistants with formal training and certifications should have the best job opportunities, since employers generally prefer to hire these workers.(1)
    We believe that obtaining a medical assistant certification or a phlebotomy certification demonstrates a willingness to learn and achieve on the graduate’s end and assures employers that Remington College graduates received an education that has prepared them for entry-level employment as a medical assistant.(2)

    Call or request information to learn more about our Medical Assisting diploma program!

    Certifications Available to Our Medical Assisting Students

    Your tuition for the Medical Assisting program includes the cost of your first attempt at the Certified Clinical Medical Assisting (CCMA) exam as well as the cost for the Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) certification.

    Additionally, students may wish to pay for and take the following certifications when they complete their medical assisting program, if they meet the requirements:

    Phlebotomy Technician Certification (CPT)
    The CPT is the most basic certification and is generally considered a requirement for many employers. Obtaining one may increase your chances of employment.(2) There are further distinctions within this certification. A CPT1 is the first level and requires no experience. A CPT2 requires a high school degree or equivalent, 20 hours of phlebotomy classes and a certificate of completion from a phlebotomy training program. The CPT certification is offered by the National Healthcareer Association.(3)

    Registered Phlebotomy Technician (RPT)
    The RPT or a registered phlebotomy technician certification requires either at least 1,040 hours of on-the-job related experience within the last three years of employment OR successfully graduating from an accredited phlebotomy training program within the last four years. Either route you choose requires that you pass an exam to obtain this certification. This certification is offered by the American Medical Technologists.(3)

    Phlebotomy Technician (NCPT)
    The NCPT is an alternative route and requires either a high school diploma or equivalent and graduating from an NCCT-authorized training program OR one year of experience as a phlebotomist. This certification is offered by the National Center for Competency Testing.(3)

    EKG Technician Certification (CET) 
    A certified EKG technician operates the machines used to check and record the activity levels of a patient’s heart. The EKG machine will generate reports that provide important data regarding the rhythm and beats per minute. The EKG Technician Certification (CET) is offered by the National Commission of for Certifying Agencies.(3)

    ECG Technician (NCET)
    A certified ECG technician will perform the same tasks as an EKG, which include placement of the monitoring nodes on the patient’s body, generating and editing the reports and delivering them to the supervising doctors and nurses and answering any questions the patient may have. 

    There are THREE (3) routes of eligibility to take the NCET exam. Select your route of eligibility from the following:   

    • (1A) Current Student in an ECG Technician program from an NCCT (authorized) school 
    • 1B) Graduation from an ECG Technician program from an NCCT (authorized) school within the past FIVE years 
    • (2) One year of verifiable full-time experience as an ECG Technician practitioner within the past FIVE years 
    • (3) Completion of ECG Technician training or its equivalent during U.S. Military service within the past FIVE years.

    The ECG Technician Certification (NCET) is administered by the National Center for Competency Testing.(3)
    Certifications, licensure requirements, and procedures vary by state, which means your options vary based on where you live.